Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are deep some love/hate/love issues going around when it comes to Aberjhani’s novel, Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World. My only crank is that I first decided to buy the book when I read the scenes from it called “Uncut Goodies” on the Goodreads website I think it was. Then later on I found out “Uncut Goodies” meant the excerpts I read were the ones taken out of the book when an editor asked Aberjhani to make the novel shorter for more marketability! The way the novel is now, I do “get it” and all that but I’m pulling for a second book like a collection of short fiction maybe that includes the “Uncut Goodies.” Anyhows, moving on….

This is an amazing novel and not what most people would probably expect from a poet but when you think about the different forms of writing that Aberjhani does then it makes sense that he would come up with fiction that’s part social reality and science fantasy, part satire and part “murder mystery,” part prose and part music, and partly on earth and part somewhere else. What makes it work at the end of the day is the way the author deals so boldly with things like the influence of music culture on personal values, suicide, celebrity personality cults, and multicultural friendships, all held together by the creative strength of the writing itself. When you hear readers say there’s nothing else like it out there, they’re speaking truth. The comparisons to Philip K. Dick, Kahlil Gibran and Franz Kafka actually fit if you need comparisons but this is a very original work from a very original writer and all the quotes on this page are from the published novel.

—mindsurfer25


“You are inside a dream that belongs to an old friend.”
–from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“It’s not so much the grinding clash between psyches and material events that interest me when it comes to spiritual adventure,” he had explained. “It’s the hard overheated sensuous pulling and rumbling from the unseen just before whatever the universe is working on pops out. Ya know?”

––from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“Just cause I don’t wanna kiss you don’t mean I hate you.”

–Danny Blue in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World

Christmas When Music novel by Aberjhani


“Now I’m searching for a vision

to still the terrors of this night,

a bridge to span the shores

between black and white.

And I’m counting on some wisdom

in the magic of the rain

to heal the burning wounds

between woman and man.”

––Ruzahn singing in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“2. Whereas the insufficiency of a love neither sustained nor supreme cannot be ignored, the same should not be taken as cause to avoid one’s total spiritual contractual engagement to this world.”
–from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World (I Beg of You These Things: A Non-Manifesto by Valerie Hyerman)


“Why would you use such a derogatory term as ‘bitch’ to describe a woman who was obviously singled out to communicate a very important vision to the world Tisha?”
––Peter Westman in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“If Jimmy Redfyre is an apt interpretation of the law of sonic vibration as it applies to a command of gravity and raw uncompromising power, Ruzahn would have to be an interpretation of that same law as it applies to ascension towards the higher realms of light and angelic concordance. Have I perhaps overstated my case? I assure you I have not.”

––Nicholas Hawthorn in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“The first thing Danny Blue thought when he saw Ellison moving toward them, striding long-legged and square-shouldered between the racks of CDs with his black leather coat billowing behind him was that he looked like Robin pretending to be Batman.”
––from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“Divine Ascendants don’t believe in suicide. We recognize that we live in a world where the sanctity of life is no longer valued on either the physical plane or the spiritual. We stage wars for the sake of increasing personal wealth. We punish people we claim to love in order to indulge an illusion of power. We abandon and murder our children because we can. We vilify lovers of peace. We imprison speakers of the truth. We make heroes out of madmen and leaders out of murderers.”
–Devoshona in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“A male child who delivers himself,” she tells the husband, “has no use for a mother. He belongs to you and this desert.”
––from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


“3. Whereas I sought by instruction to instill my life with positive creative context and divine relevant substance, I can only say make of these the best you can. And that if in my works you discern such factors as joy, peace, wisdom and truth and affection, my prayer is that the least of your works should put the best of my efforts to shame.”
––from Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World (I Beg of You These Things: A Non-Manifesto by Valerie Hyman)


“I thought my spirit was the part of me that made my art possible. Then I learned that the spirit is what makes possibility possible.”
––Valerie in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World

“This is the fire

Heaven burns

when angels claim their wings.

This is the storm

devils fear

when prophets cry and sing.

Oh blessed be the joy

of a child born in grace,

oh glory be to God

for a soul weaned on faith.”

––Ruzahn singing “This Fire Heaven Burns” in Christmas When Music Almost Killed the World


